2024 NBSAC Appointments

Four new members have been appointed to the Boating Safety Advisory Committee (NBSAC) representing the states. 

Ms. Laurel Anders, Pennsylvania

Mr. Grant Brown, Colorado

Captain Rachel Bryant, Florida

Major Clay Marques, Louisiana

Originally established by Congress in 1971 as the National Boating Safety Advisory Council, 2018 Congressional legislation required a new National Boating Safety Advisory Committee be established under a new charter. The 4 new members of the NBSAC help to provides advice and recommendations on matters relating to the Secretary, Department of Homeland Security (DHS) through the Commandant of the United States Coast Guard and the Assistant Commandant for Prevention Policy (CG-5P) on matters relating to recreational boating safety.

NBSAC consists of 21 members drawn equally from state officials responsible for state boating safety programs; representatives of the boating industry; and representatives of national recreational boating organizations and the general public. The Secretary of Homeland Security appoints NBSAC Members. Members are appointed for a three-year term, which will expire on December 31st of the third year of the appointment.